Glossary of Terms

Arahant – comes from the Pali word arahati meaning ‘worthy’ or ‘noble’ and is a title given to someone who has attained enlightenment as a result of listening to and practicing the teachings of a Buddha. Like a Buddha, an arahant has perfected wisdom and compassion and is no longer subject to rebirth

Bodhichitta – ‘Bodhi’ is the Sanskrit word for ‘enlightenment’, and ‘chitta’ the word for ‘mind’; therefore ‘bodhichitta‘ literally means ‘mind of enlightenment’. It is defined as a mind, motivated by compassion for all living beings, that spontaneously seeks enlightenment.

Bodhisattva – An enlightened being who forsakes entering paradise, “Nirvana” out of infinite compassion for all sentient beings, and whose desire is to help them all to achieve enlightenment.

Buddha – An enlightened being, also referred to the  Shakyamuni Buddha

Dukkha – Pāli; Sanskrit: duḥkha; Tibetan: སྡུག་བསྔལ་ sdug bsngal, pr. “duk-ngel”) is a Buddhist term commonly translated as “suffering”, “anxiety”, “stress”, or “unsatisfactoriness”.

Karma- The law of cause and effect where your actions dictate the resulting outcome.

Nirvana – Liberation from Samsara due to an undisturbed mind that is free from all attachment.

Rinpoche – A reincarnated enlightened being, for example The Dalai Lama, or Karmapa

Reincarnation – Rebirth due to attachment and Karma

Samsara – the repeated cycle of Birth, Life, and Death

Shakyamuni Buddha – Also “The Buddha”,  is the one most people identify as “The Buddha”. Even though there are many Buddhas


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.